Trying to Figure out an Ending

Hello all. I’ve returned for another weekly update. Yay?

Anyway, this week I read some books. How many? Well only 3, but two of those books were as long as 3 books themselves, so there’s that, heh. Of course part of why there wasn’t more read by myself was because I’m still playing way too many hours of this dang MMORPG. I’m sure you’re tired of hearing about it, but it’s what I’ve been up to.

Otherwise I’m still going through what I’ve already written, editing before the first draft is completed. It’s what I’ve always done. Either when I feel stuck on some point, or unsure where to go with the story, I’ve generally felt going through what I’ve already written helps clear things up for me. And as I do this the world keeps moving and I generally find some inspiration in it, or in reviewing what I’ve already put to ‘paper’. As far as I can tell, and with feedback from Samantha, the book so far is readable and entertaining. I just need to figure out how I want to tell the ending. Only another thirty-thousand words or so to go, heh.

Endings are the hardest part for me. You’ve got to wrap up everything, and make sure all threads that you’ve put down come together and make sense. If there’s a series, you can tease a bit more at the end, or leave some threads behind to get your readers interested in consuming another story, but there still needs to be a satisfying conclusion for each books ending. And since this book has a bit of mystery and detective work being done, I have to double be sure to have all the clues in the book be correct. You can mislead, but it still has to be pertinent to the ultimate conclusion. This all is the difficulty I’m experiencing with getting the ending worked out for this book. But I’m getting there, and as the days go by I’m figuring it all out.

Anyway, Dofus… heh. Well, mostly I want to talk about how nice it is to have (a) friend(s) who you can talk to daily. During this time of isolation… well that’s my life most of the time, it’s really cool that I can pop on to Discord and have someone to talk with. And of course it doesn’t hurt we have an activity to work on. And fun enough, for me at least, I’ve finally gotten my new character up to the same level as the old one. And that old one took years to get there, however this time around it only took a few weeks. Crazy how working together with someone can really help you raise your levels. Dungeon running every day I have free has really helped out. And now I’m even making a little bit of in-game money by selling off all the things I make or get from completing these dungeons. Meaning I seem to be able to get enough currency to pay for my subscription, though I’ve had to borrow a bit this last time. I’ll get better though I’m sure.

Alright, I think I’ll leave off here. Otherwise I’ll just go on about this silly MMORPG until no one reads these posts anymore. I hope you all have a great week.

TTFN

You Must Be Drunk link to the Amazon store here https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07X8KH6WM

What I’ve published

Walk On

Walk On Cover

click here for a link to the book

Outsider Trilogy

Outsiders-Book-Cover-RGB-web-safe

Click here for a link to the book

Poetry

poems_front2

Link to my author page on Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/Steven-Oaks/e/B00MEGSEZ6

Or you can help me out on Patreon. Again, thank you. https://www.patreon.com/StevenOaks

Update: You Must Be Drunk is published. Find it here. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07X8KH6WM. I’m 70% into the new novel’s first draft. Samantha is working on some edits for me, and I was able to edit another chapter based on her suggestions.

Steven Oaks

Follow me on the things below.

ce70Twitter-icon
Tumblr-Icon
url
goodreads_icon_256
YouTube-App-Icon

Leave a comment